Sign in to follow this  
  • entries
    9,591
  • comments
    636
  • views
    218,725

Here’s What Will Happen If Users Do Not Accept WhatsApp’s New Privacy Policy After The Deadline

Sign in to follow this  
Admin

4 views

WhatsApp has not backed down from its recent privacy policy update that entails sharing private data with Facebook if you have interacted with a business on the instant messaging platform. In fact, you will still risk losing your account if you do not accept the privacy policy changes. As a result, there was an instant backlash from the user base and the instant messaging app delayed the rollout of the new privacy policy to May 15th. The move was done in order to clarify any issues with the changes and educate its users on what the new policy entails. It is worth pointing out that WhatsApp has a different set of policies for European customers where the company does not force users to accept the new changes.

What If You Don © Reuters

However, WhatsApp has now explained what will happen to your account if you do not accept the new terms. Failure to accept the new terms after May 15th will result in users losing key features. “For a short time, you’ll be able to receive calls and notifications, but won’t be able to read or send messages from the app,” according to the company’s FAQ page. 

As for the “short time”, it means that your WhatsApp account will last for a few weeks until your account faces permanent deletion. WhatsApp has now started communicating with its merchant partners about the new policies who use the platform for selling goods and services. The instant messaging app charges a fee to businesses to use WhatsApp as a way to communicate with customers. 

What If You Don © Pexels

Users who are not keen on accepting the new policy changes will eventually face a permanent account deletion where chat history will be deleted as well. The only option users have left is to switch to different messaging platforms like Telegram and Signal if they wish to not accept the latest privacy policies. Thankfully, Telegram now offers an easy method to transfer all of your chat history and contacts with a seamless procedure. 

Having said that, users will still be able to accept the new terms on WhatsApp after the May 15th deadline. You will have 120 days to make up your mind after the May 15th deadline. However, if users do not accept the new terms within the new 120 days timeframe, your WhatsApp account will be classified as inactive. WhatsApp automatically deletes inactive accounts after 120 days. WhatsApp says once the account is deleted, “it is something we cannot reverse.” 


View the full article

Sign in to follow this  


0 Comments


Recommended Comments

There are no comments to display.

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!

Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.

Sign In Now